For Those Who Like Historical Costuming…

I found this charming pocket on Etsy (and of course had to buy it lol). It comes with the embroidery already complete, so all one has to do is to sew the pocket together. Isn’t it just the perfect image for 2020?

dumpster fire pocket panel from Onceuponastitchstore on Etsy.

Prior to the victorian age, pockets were worn separately from one’s clothes (for women at least). They could be decorated and worn over or under one’s top petticoat. They simply tied around the waist. The petticoat typically tied at either side of the body, so there were convenient slits through which to access the pocket if it was worn beneath the skirt.

This amused me (and the embroidery is beautifully executed), so I had to share. Check out Onceuponastitchstore for more goodies (I am unaffiliated with the store. I just found it while hunting for 18th century clothing ideas on Etsy).

Leave a comment